Beer is traditionally made using water, hops, yeast and barley – a grain that contains gluten.
People with gluten intolerances including coeliac disease should avoid gluten, as it can damage your small intestine’s lining and prevent it from absorbing nutrients.[i]
Since 2012 food and drink manufacturers have had to comply with laws which stipulate that a ‘gluten-free’ label can only be used on products which contain less than 20 parts per million (PPM) or less of gluten. This is also the level which is considered safe by Coeliac UK.[ii]
In our brewing process, we use over 20 speciality grains to give our beer extra body and flavour including barley, rye, wheat and oats. However, thanks to our top-secret brewing techniques, the gluten level is reduced to a certified safe level. One of the reasons we can brew our beers naturally to 0.5% ABV, without removing the alcohol afterwards, is the fact that we use a lot less grain in our recipes than other beers. So that means, simply, that there’s a lot less grain to start with!
All of our beers are gluten-free and therefore coeliac safe (<10PPM gluten) except for Woodcutter Brown Ale, Fieldhopper Golden Ale and Off-Piste Hazelnut Porter.
We are committed to producing an amazing variety of beers for everyone to enjoy, no matter what their circumstance.
Shop our range of gluten-free beers here.